Forum Locked  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

speters
Infrequent Poster

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 01/22/2008 :  05:52:28  Show Profile  Visit speters's Homepage
I am using PS CS3 Extended and strata 3d in. I am new to strata and I think that I have a pretty simple question. I have a photo of a bottle that has a label on it, but the client want's me to change the logo. I was given the illustrator art for the label and I was wondering if there is a simple way of adding that logo to the bottle using strata 3d in? I a quick google and could not find what I am looking for and I am under a tight deadline, I need to have this done my around 2 tomorrow, and I actually have 3 different bottles and labels. I can add all of the highlights and shadows in PS so I just need to know how to create a model of the shape of the bottle in the photo graph and then just rap the new label around the model and render out just the label. So can you give me any help?

Thanks,
Steve

Ken Bringhurst
A Regular

USA
238 Posts

Posted - 01/23/2008 :  00:02:57  Show Profile  Visit Ken Bringhurst's Homepage
Do you know how to create the 3D model? That part is very simple. Just follow the example of the can model demo video. You can see that at 3DLayer.com - http://www.3dlayer.com/tutorials/design_model/

Once you have the model you can make as many copies of it as you like and put a different label on each one. Now make the label:

Make sure the bottle model is _not_ selected. Click the "New" button in the texture tab of the Resource palette to make the label. Type the name "Label" in the top Name field. Put your label artwork in the Diffuse Color channel (click the channel icon and paste the art in). Put a fully white (just white pixels) version of the label in the Stencil channel (think of this as a Mask channel). Move the Gloss slider to the right about half way. Don't touch the Clear slider! We're leaving this opaque. Click OK.