StrataCafe Forums
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 StrataCafe
 Strata Design 3D CX
 How to import a AutoCAD dxf file into Starta?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

dragos von z
Infrequent Poster

5 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2009 :  20:12:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Dear all,

I'm new to Strata and have done I few tutorials and I love it. Very easy to use but I run into a problem. When I import a dxf file from autocad I can not see it. I can zoom out all the way and still not be able to see it. In autocad I can save a file as dxf under different versions to be able to import in other programs and I tried all.
What am I doing wrong? can some one help me. I have a few projects that I would like to render?

MrChristopher
A Fountain of Information

USA
2220 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2009 :  20:46:08  Show Profile  Send MrChristopher an AOL message  Reply with Quote
Do you see an entry in the Project Window for these items?

When you open the files, select Command+=(equal/plus sign). This will zoom the scene to the extend of your objects which should help you to see what's there.

Chris
Go to Top of Page

Brian Lawson

USA
5217 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2009 :  20:49:23  Show Profile  Visit Brian Lawson's Homepage  Send Brian Lawson an AOL message  Reply with Quote
You need to be sure your DXF is saved in version 12 or earlier.

Brian Lawson
Strata Technical Support
Go to Top of Page

dragos von z
Infrequent Poster

5 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2009 :  21:02:17  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
To begin with, I just converted my file to a 3ds file which I have not tried yet to import and second I'm a PC user so what is the replacement to command (-+). Is it CTRL?
Go to Top of Page

Brian Lawson

USA
5217 Posts

Posted - 02/17/2009 :  21:08:02  Show Profile  Visit Brian Lawson's Homepage  Send Brian Lawson an AOL message  Reply with Quote